Tinker-Muse Prize Award Recipients

2017 - Matthew England (Australia)

For his sustained and seminal insights into the influence of the Southern Ocean on the continent and its role in the global climate system

2016 – Rob DeConto (USA)

For his outstanding work on past and future Antarctic climate and for integrating geological data with modelling showing potential sea level rise from ice sheet melt

2015 - Valérie Masson-Delmotte (France)

For her work on the characterization, quantification and understanding of past changes in climate and water cycle, translating the isotopic data to paleo-temperature records.

2014 - Tim Naish (New Zealand)

For his outstanding research in understanding Antarctica’s response to past and present climate change and the role of Antarctica’s ice sheets in global sea-level change through time

2013 - Martin Siegert (UK)

For his innovative research on Antarctic subglacial lakes and the reconstruction of Antarctic glacial history, support of early-career researchers and public outreach

2012 - Steve Rintoul (Australia)

For his profound contribution to our scientific understanding of the Southern Ocean, advancing coordinated international investigation and long-term Southern Ocean observing systems

2011 - José Xavier (Portugal)

For his outstanding research on the predator-prey dynamics that sustain populations of albatrosses, penguins and other top predators in the Southern Ocean

2010 - Helen Fricker (USA)

For her discovery of active sub-glacial lakes, showing that these lakes form dynamic hydrologic systems, where one lake can drain into another in a short period of time

2009 - Steven Chown (South Africa)

For his outstanding research on invasive species and the effect of climate change and human interactions on Antarctica and for his advice to the Antarctic Treaty System

Steve Rintoul

Dr Steve Rintoul, who was awarded the 2012 Muse Prize for his work on Southern Ocean circulation, will give the 2015 S.T. Lee Lecture in Antarctic Studies at the Victoria University of Wellington on Tuesday 15 September.

The S.T. Lee Lecture in Antarctic Studies was established by Singaporean philanthropist Lee Seng Tee. This high-profile lecture series, held annually, is designed to recognise and bolster the University's strong contribution to Antarctic research. Previous lecturers include Muse Prize Fellows Prof Steven Chown and Prof Martin Siegert.

Dr Rintoul's lecture is entitled “The Fate of the Antarctic Ice Sheet: Lessons from the geological past and how they are informing future predictions”. More information on the lecture is available from the S.T. Lee Lecture website.