Tinker-Muse Prize Award Recipients

2017 - Matthew England (Australia)

For his sustained and seminal insights into the influence of the Southern Ocean on the continent and its role in the global climate system

2016 – Rob DeConto (USA)

For his outstanding work on past and future Antarctic climate and for integrating geological data with modelling showing potential sea level rise from ice sheet melt

2015 - Valérie Masson-Delmotte (France)

For her work on the characterization, quantification and understanding of past changes in climate and water cycle, translating the isotopic data to paleo-temperature records.

2014 - Tim Naish (New Zealand)

For his outstanding research in understanding Antarctica’s response to past and present climate change and the role of Antarctica’s ice sheets in global sea-level change through time

2013 - Martin Siegert (UK)

For his innovative research on Antarctic subglacial lakes and the reconstruction of Antarctic glacial history, support of early-career researchers and public outreach

2012 - Steve Rintoul (Australia)

For his profound contribution to our scientific understanding of the Southern Ocean, advancing coordinated international investigation and long-term Southern Ocean observing systems

2011 - José Xavier (Portugal)

For his outstanding research on the predator-prey dynamics that sustain populations of albatrosses, penguins and other top predators in the Southern Ocean

2010 - Helen Fricker (USA)

For her discovery of active sub-glacial lakes, showing that these lakes form dynamic hydrologic systems, where one lake can drain into another in a short period of time

2009 - Steven Chown (South Africa)

For his outstanding research on invasive species and the effect of climate change and human interactions on Antarctica and for his advice to the Antarctic Treaty System

Dr Ian Allison, long-time member and previous chair of the Tinker-Muse Prize selection committee, has been elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science.

Ian AllisonThe Australian Academy of Science is a Fellowship of Australia’s most distinguished scientists, elected by their peers for outstanding research that has pushed back the frontiers of knowledge. Only 20 Fellows are elected to the Academy each year.

During his long career with the Australian Antarctic Division (AAD), Ian has worked across a range of disciplines including glaciology, meteorology, oceanography, and ice-shelf–ocean interaction. A major focus of his research has been the role of Antarctica in the global climate system and its response to climate change.

For more information, see the news item on the AAD website.

Read Dr Ian Allison's citation here.