Tinker-Muse Prize Award Recipients

2017 - Matthew England (Australia)

For his sustained and seminal insights into the influence of the Southern Ocean on the continent and its role in the global climate system

2016 – Rob DeConto (USA)

For his outstanding work on past and future Antarctic climate and for integrating geological data with modelling showing potential sea level rise from ice sheet melt

2015 - Valérie Masson-Delmotte (France)

For her work on the characterization, quantification and understanding of past changes in climate and water cycle, translating the isotopic data to paleo-temperature records.

2014 - Tim Naish (New Zealand)

For his outstanding research in understanding Antarctica’s response to past and present climate change and the role of Antarctica’s ice sheets in global sea-level change through time

2013 - Martin Siegert (UK)

For his innovative research on Antarctic subglacial lakes and the reconstruction of Antarctic glacial history, support of early-career researchers and public outreach

2012 - Steve Rintoul (Australia)

For his profound contribution to our scientific understanding of the Southern Ocean, advancing coordinated international investigation and long-term Southern Ocean observing systems

2011 - José Xavier (Portugal)

For his outstanding research on the predator-prey dynamics that sustain populations of albatrosses, penguins and other top predators in the Southern Ocean

2010 - Helen Fricker (USA)

For her discovery of active sub-glacial lakes, showing that these lakes form dynamic hydrologic systems, where one lake can drain into another in a short period of time

2009 - Steven Chown (South Africa)

For his outstanding research on invasive species and the effect of climate change and human interactions on Antarctica and for his advice to the Antarctic Treaty System

Muse award 2016The Tinker-Muse Prize Award Ceremony 2016 was held at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Center, on Tuesday August 23rd as part of the 2016 SCAR Open Science Conference. The Chair of the Selection Committee, Professor Peter Barrett, provided some of the background to the selection of the 2016 Prize winner, while Renate Rennie, President of the Tinker Foundation, spoke about the importance of the award and its progress over the last 8 years. Professor Robert DeConto was then presented with the award by Renate Rennie.

Rob awardAs one of the Keynote Speakers at the Open Science Conference, Professor DeConto delivered his acceptance lecture immediately after the Award ceremony entitled “Thresholds for the Birth and Death of an Ice Sheet”. The lecture covered his own background and collaborations, as well as providing an overview of the state of the art in development and use of coupled ice sheet-climate models, and their crucial role in understanding the contribution of the Antarctic to global climate.

A recording of the live webcast of the ceremony and the acceptance speech are available on YouTube.