Tinker-Muse Prize Award Recipients

2017 - Matthew England (Australia)

For his sustained and seminal insights into the influence of the Southern Ocean on the continent and its role in the global climate system

2016 – Rob DeConto (USA)

For his outstanding work on past and future Antarctic climate and for integrating geological data with modelling showing potential sea level rise from ice sheet melt

2015 - Valérie Masson-Delmotte (France)

For her work on the characterization, quantification and understanding of past changes in climate and water cycle, translating the isotopic data to paleo-temperature records.

2014 - Tim Naish (New Zealand)

For his outstanding research in understanding Antarctica’s response to past and present climate change and the role of Antarctica’s ice sheets in global sea-level change through time

2013 - Martin Siegert (UK)

For his innovative research on Antarctic subglacial lakes and the reconstruction of Antarctic glacial history, support of early-career researchers and public outreach

2012 - Steve Rintoul (Australia)

For his profound contribution to our scientific understanding of the Southern Ocean, advancing coordinated international investigation and long-term Southern Ocean observing systems

2011 - José Xavier (Portugal)

For his outstanding research on the predator-prey dynamics that sustain populations of albatrosses, penguins and other top predators in the Southern Ocean

2010 - Helen Fricker (USA)

For her discovery of active sub-glacial lakes, showing that these lakes form dynamic hydrologic systems, where one lake can drain into another in a short period of time

2009 - Steven Chown (South Africa)

For his outstanding research on invasive species and the effect of climate change and human interactions on Antarctica and for his advice to the Antarctic Treaty System

Mike Meredith webThe 2018 Tinker-Muse Prize for Science and Policy in Antarctica has been awarded to Professor Michael Meredith, leader of the Polar Oceans programme at the British Antarctic Survey.

This highly prestigious prize is awarded in recognition of his outstanding interdisciplinary and international leadership in the quest to understand the role of the Southern Oceans in controlling regional and global climate via changes in ocean circulation.  His research focus aims to reduce uncertainty in scientific predictions for a future world, and to provide policy makers with science-based assessments of how these issues will affect the everyday lives of people in decades to come.

In accepting the award Professor Meredith said,
“This is a tremendous honour, and I am both humbled and proud to receive this prize.  Antarctic research plays a critically important role in understanding our changing world.  I am extremely fortunate to have the opportunity to collaborate with fantastic colleagues within British Antarctic Survey and across the international polar sciences community.  This award is an endorsement of our collective research effort, and I am hugely grateful to the Tinker Foundation and the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research for selecting me as this year’s recipient.’

Professor Meredith was a co-founder and inaugural co-Chair of the Southern Ocean Observing System (SOOS), and he led the design and implementation of a £10M research programme that is unravelling the role of the Southern Ocean in changing global climate. He is currently Coordinating Lead Author for the Polar Regions chapter in the upcoming IPCC Special Report on Oceans and Cryosphere in a Changing Climate.  

Caroline Kronley, President of the Tinker Foundation added,
“We are delighted to congratulate Dr. Meredith on receiving the 10th Tinker-Muse Prize. His outstanding research reinforces the significance of Antarctic science for the entire planet and its inhabitants. The Tinker Foundation is proud to join SCAR in celebrating his accomplishments to date and investing in his continued leadership going forward”.

The US $100,000 international prize, awarded by the Tinker Foundation and administered by the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research, is presented annually to an individual whose work has enhanced the understanding and/or preservation of Antarctica.