Marth T Muse Prize
Home : The Muse Prize : Nominations : Selection Committee : News : FAQs : Committee Only

Martha T. Muse

Martha Twitchell Muse is the Chair of the Tinker Foundation. She was a founding director of the Foundation in 1959 and since then has served in various capacities, becoming executive director in 1965 and president in 1968. She became Chairman of the Board of Directors in 1975 at the Foundation’s incorporation. Ms. Muse has provided outstanding leadership over her years of service, both to the Tinker Foundation and others. She was the first woman to be elected to the Board of Trustees of Columbia University and continues to serve the school as Trustee Emerita. She also serves as a director on the boards of several organizations, including the Americas Society, the Council of the Americas, and the Spanish Institute. Her past directorships have included the New York Stock Exchange; the Cuba Policy Foundation; and many corporate directorships, including the American Smelting and Refining Company, the Bank of New York, ACF Industries (formerly named the American Car and Foundry Company), Sterling Drug Inc., Associated Dry Goods Inc., May Department Stores, and Irving Bank and Trust Company. In addition to her directorships, Ms. Muse is also a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, the Inter-American Dialogue, and the U.S.–Spain Council. For her many contributions to the field of Latin American and Iberian relations, she has received various awards, including the Orden al Mérito por Servicios Distinguidos en el Grado de la Gran Cruz (Merit Order for Distinguished Services in the Rank of the Great Cross) from Peru, the Order of the Southern Cross from Brazil, the Order of Bernardo O’Higgins from Chile, and the Orden de Mayo al Mérito (May Order of Merit) from Argentina.